Ravings From The Bog


Stressco
August 5, 2008, 11:42 pm
Filed under: Economy, Life, Work at Stressco | Tags: ,

I wanted to be a photojournalist when I first saw this Philip Jones Griffith photograph in Time magazine in the early ‘70s.

Due to idleness, beer and girls, I squandered my educational opportunities.

I’ve been working in food retail since 4 October 1979.

I have worked my way up from trolley boy to store manager and that is the post I held for almost twenty of those years. Following a bout of stress related illness, I decided to step down two years ago to deputy store manager. The current situation, with the drop in sales due to the economic downturn, is more stressful now than it was when I made my “life-changing” decision. Sales budgets set eighteen months ago, are still expected to be met. Our other budgets, like waste and payroll all link to the sales line so everything is going belly-up fast.

It has never been a “pleasure” to work in retail but at least it has been bearable until now. Nine years to go until early retirement kicks in and it seems like a lifetime away. I need another job or perhaps it’s time to go back to the trolleys.

I should have worked harder at school dammit…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

