Ravings From The Bog


My Top 5 Favourite Movies and Why!

1.     The English Patient – easily numero uno! The lovely and eternally smouldering Kristin Scott Thomas is perfectly cast in her best role ever. I have watched this film perhaps twelve times and intend to watch it again and again. I just want to don my tux and cut in when Almasy is dancing with Katharine and whisk her away into the desert to have her to myself. Watching the film made me read the book. It focuses more on the other romance between Hana and Kip, but I think Anthony Minghella got it just right in his screenplay based on the original book.

2.     American Beauty – Lester Burnham is my hero! It may be my own mid-life crisis or my tedious job, but I identified very strongly with Kevin Spacey’s portrayal of this character right from the start. Clever dialogue, tightly paced direction by Sam Mendes and fantastic cinematography gel together to deliver a paean to individuality within Middle America.

3.     Amelie – a cheer-me-up movie of the highest calibre. Charming, funny, romantic and full of life; this one has it all! Audrey Tautou will always be Amelie to me. Rich colours, a fantastic soundtrack and my own experience of visiting Montmartre in Paris (and the bar in which much of the story is set) make this one special for me.

4.     The Way We Were – I watched this one again last night. Streisand’s best role by a country mile and Redford playing Redford with a theme tune to die for. I actually bought it this morning off iTunes! The strongest aspect of this film for me was the subtle changes in the balance between the Katie and Hubble, which didn’t need dialogue most of the time, and this from two actors who reportedly didn’t like each other. Superb casting for the main roles. Perfect movie making.

5.     Brief Encounter – for anyone who has ever harboured an illicit desire but hasn’t acted upon it and yet, has pondered “what could have been?” Rehashed in 1984 with De Niro and Streep in Falling In Love, Noel Coward’s Brief Encounter will take some beating. Evoking the buttoned up attitudes and morals of 1945, I think sometimes that we would be better off today if we had some of the reserve and moral backbone evident in this time capsule.  

Bubbling under:

Once Upon A Time In America

Jerry Maguire

Tequila Sunrise

Passport to Pimlico

Harvey

What A Wonderful Life!

The Russians Are Coming, The Russians Are Coming

And on, and on…

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

