Ravings From The Bog


Banana Splits! Here come the 1970s…
August 21, 2008, 11:16 pm
Filed under: Culture, Entertainment, Family, Fun, Life, Memories, TV, Weird & Wonderful | Tags: , , , ,

Great news for all of us 40+ year olds! Drooper, Fleegle, Snorky and Bingo are re-emerging from the mists of time to show us all how to have a good time. One of the most catchy theme tunes EVER signaled to all of us kids that it was time for crazy madcap fun. A new series from Warner Brothers and the Cartoon Network is due in September. Get your kids to watch and learn how it was done in the 1970s – it never did us any harm, did it?

Let’s have Catweazle, Top Cat, Here Come The Double Deckers, The Mouse Factory and Mr Ben too!

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love it,love it,love it-but why did you have to say 40 + year olds???? Can’t I be 12 again?

Comment by teachthemasses

Thanks for your comment. Of course you can be 12 again – that time travel element is why we love these old shows! LOL

Comment by Bog Raver

That showed rocked, afterschool Captain Crunch and the Banana Splits

Comment by naheemfox

That brings back memories. I had a Banana Splits lunchbox in the first grade.

Comment by Eric

I’m 21 (though a +40 at heart) and remember watching these, that were obviously repeats. I am constantly humming the tune to people, describing “four blokes in larges animal suits with sunglasses on, running around a carossell in double speed”, to which they accordingly think I fell on my head as an infant.

Comment by jonquinn

im 19 and i LOVE THIS SHOW!!!

Comment by k.lee

i’m 40 + a little bit more and i remember watching after kindergarten on my mommy’s bed…good memories for us all. i now share them with my boys(a new generation of splits fans!)My 10, 5, and 1 year old watch on boom channel, a digital old cartoon network, all the time. My 1 yr. old just learned to sing La-la-la! If that isn’t passing it on, i don’t know what is! Lovin it! Form Texas, u.s

Comment by diana

Hi Diana,
Thanks for your comment. Some shows never die! That La La La tune is very addictive too. Can’t remember what age I was when I watched it, but I’m 48 now. No grandkids yet, thankfully, but I’m sure it will be a hit with them too.
Nice to *meet* you 🙂
Regards,
Colin

Comment by Colin




Leave a Reply

