Ravings From The Bog


My Secret Life

This is one of those Sunday magazine supplement features that can be fun. Here are my answers:

My Secret Life

The home I grew up in…

Was liberal, tolerant and relaxed, but not plentiful.

The moment that changed me forever…

Was on 19 December 1987 at 0145, when my first child, Chris, was born.

My greatest inspiration…

The direct debit for my mortgage…

If I could change one thing about myself…

I would have a supernatural power to stretch time

At night I dream of…

Kristin Scott Thomas

What I see when I look in the mirror…

George Clooney

My style icon…

Christopher Biggins

My favourite item of clothing…

Is a t-shirt that says: “God Is Busy. Can I Help?” (see my post with the same title)

You wouldn’t know it but I’m very good at…

Chess

You may not know it but I’m no good at…

Exercising

All my money goes on…

Expensive gadgets like iMacs, iPhones and iPods, and lots and lots of books.

If I have time to myself…

I waste it! (The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time – Bertrand Russell)

I ride…

Nothing, as motorbikes scare me, but I’m tempted towards a Vespa or Lambretta scooter.

My house is…

Unfinished! Decoration has never been my strong point…

My most valuable possession is…

My sanity – people have tried to mess it up at times – mostly at work.

My favourite building…

The old Bank of Ireland building at the end of Royal Avenue in Belfast. An Art Deco masterpiece – I wish they’d clean it up.

Movie Heaven…

Watching an extended (by 12 hours!) version of The English Patient with Kristin Scott Thomas in her desert outfit, in my own private cinema, with Juliette Binoche serving the drinks in her nurse’s outfit.

A book that changed me…

Stig of the Dump by Clive King – a class reader in primary school, it started my ravenous hunger for reading.

My favourite work of art…

The Angel Of The North

The shop I can’t walk past…

Any Apple shop – and we’re getting one in Belfast next month!

The best invention ever…

Spectacles

The last album I bought/downloaded…

America’s Greatest Hits, by America

In 10 years’ time, I hope to…

Be driving across America with my wife in a convertible.

My greatest regret…

Is that I didn’t apply myself in school. I wanted to be a journalist – inspired by photos in Time magazine of the Vietnam War.

My life in seven words…

Stepping carefully between the stools of life!  

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

