Ravings From The Bog


Further Evidence Of Corporate Greed At Ebay

I have been a member of Ebay since June 2004. Not long after joining, I set up an Ebay shop to sell among other things, sheet music from 1890 to the 1970s and railway-related postcards. In that time, I tried to be fair with all my buyers and sellers and amassed a 100% positive rating that currently sits at 2258. I have made a number of regular customers who are delighted with my quick service, honest descriptions and reasonable postal rates.

Contrast that with the behaviour of Ebay. Recently, the rental rate of the virtual shop went from £6 (US$11.50) to £14.99 (US$29.00) per month. The 30-day automatic renewal rate of items went from 0.03p (US$0.06) to 0.20p (US$0.38). As I had 708 items listed at the time of the change, my potential monthly rental went from £42.48 to £141.60! Combining this with the shop rental increase, the overall cost rose by 410%

I fired an email off to Ebay Customer Services immediately on receiving my increased bill. Two days later, I got the usual banal rubbish back (both emails below – fyi).

I use Ebay as a source of petty cash. Given the charges from Ebay and it’s sister company, Paypal, I don’t imagine that very many people will ever make a living from their Ebay “profits”, but it has regularly covered my petrol bill for a month, for example. Given that many, many people are now in a critical financial position, I’m sure that they are relying more on every possible source of income and these profiteering increases from Ebay at this particular time will close down many Ebay shops putting people closer to poverty than they’d like to be.

My email to Ebay:

I’m completely disgusted at the increase in the cost of my shop from £6

to £14.99 and at the monthly automatic relisting fee increasing from

0.03p to 0.20p (over six times the original fee!).

I will be closing my shop as soon as I can, despite having it since

2004. I hope many other shop-owners feel the same and close their shops

too. This is profiteering of the worst sort and your tweaks to the

selling systems are merely a cynical way of you boosting your already

inordinate profits. Over the last few years, your fiddling with exposure

of UK-sold items in the US has cost me a lot of trade, but this is the

last straw.

Their response to me:

Hello,

Thank you for your email about the increase in your Shop’s monthly

subscription fee. I appreciate your concern about the impact on your

business.

The rise in monthly subscription fee reflects improvements we’ve made to

Shops:

-All Shop listings can now be seen by buyers in the main search results.

Previously, Shop Inventory Format items were separated off in a box at

the bottom of the search results page.

– Significantly discounted Insertion Fees are available to Shop owners.

– Featured and Anchor Shop subscribers can now access telephone support.

We’re confident that these improvements will help you grow your sales on

eBay, while still offering good value for money for your Shop

subscription.

I trust this explains why Shop subscription fees have increased. Thank

you for using eBay.

Kind regards,

Gilbert Doore

eBay Customer Support

Enough said!

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

