Ravings From The Bog


Railway Memories

HUGE Locomotive!I love this picture. While it’s not me OR a train from the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, it reminds me of trips to the museum, both when it was based in Dee St, in East Belfast and later at it’s current home in Cultra. The trips with my Dad were to Dee St and he would lift me up onto the locomotives and trams (he couldn’t do it now!). The smell of the old leather in the trams and cars, and oil from the locomotives, even now, are very evocative of an earlier age, both, of the late Sixties and of course, from whenever the various means of transport were in use. I brought all of my kids there, at various stages. Chris was an easy sell as he was a Thomas The Tank Engine fan, but the girls…not so much! 

It’s also fairly sad when some of the vehicles currently in the museum are those that I can remember driving around Belfast!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

